Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
6

Kitchen Gadgets Galore!

& chit-chat about halloumi, harissa, Heyday Canning, & Tara Jensen
6

This week I went on a field trip to Restaurant Depot, secured a day pass, and had a good old-fashioned shopping spree. As you might imagine, they sell food, lots and lots of food in bulk sizes for restaurant use. The inside of this warehouse, although gigantic, somehow feels like a small restaurant kitchen under duress on a sold-out Saturday night. There are no shopping carts or two handle baskets like you find at your local grocery, and definitely no parents pushing kids around. This store is filled with big carts and busy people. Everyone in a rush, stacking boxes of cauliflower and vats of mayonnaise onto industrial carts, and then swinging them into one of the vans parked outside the loading dock. Forklifts whizz around corners with an orchestra of beep beeps. The minute I walked into the store I felt like I was in the way and dodging disaster. To my surprise, when I found the aisle with cookware, it was quiet and I was able to stroll through, looking at (and touching!) everything before deciding what to take home.

After I made the video above, I got down to business and cooked up a nice meal with:

  • Harissa spiced beans from Heyday Canning. These were absolutely delicious. What a delight to open a perfectly spiced can of beans.

  • Halloumi from Mediterranean Shepherd, sliced into four sections, smeared with olive oil on both sides and put on a hot outdoor grill. It also works fine in a cast iron pan on the stovetop.

  • Beaver Brook Farm Ground Lamb seasoned with Penzey’s Coriander & Cumin


Also Mentioned:

Discussion about this podcast