Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Do you eat oatmeal for breakfast?

Talking overnight oats and unboxing food-themed hair accoutrements

Spring is in the air, and even though the weather hasn’t quite turned warm, I’m ready to start eating cold breakfast again. Do you like overnight oatmeal? I’ve gone through periods in my life, literally years, where I ate it every day. It’s so simple to make, super healthy, and can be tweaked to alter the taste slightly, with the shake of a spice or a fun stir in, so that you don’t feel like you’re eating the same exact meal every morning.

The hardest part of making overnight oatmeal is planning ahead. Once you have a good supply of ingredients, you can make several jars at a time. It’s the perfect grab and go meal. Below is the recipe from Mother Grains by Roxanna Jullapat. I substituted garam masala in place of cinnamon and cardamom and I didn’t need to add the maple syrup as I found the sweetness of the date was plenty.

Leah’s Overnight Oatmeal from Mother Grains

Copyright © 2021 by Roxana Jullapat courtesy of W.W. Norton & Company Inc.

Also Mentioned:

Penzey’s Spice
Harth & Harrow scarves
Jenny Lemons hair accessories!
Mother Grains: Recipes for the Grain Revolution by Roxana Jullapat
The Cookie That Changed My Life by Nancy Silverton
The Miller’s Daughter by Emma Zimmerman

Discussion about this podcast